Reise

Zurück zu den Nachrichten

Château bleibt in Frankreich

Château de Bertangles, once the headquarters for General John Monash, is now available as accommodation for travellers.

Neuigkeiten

Veröffentlicht am 29 Januar 2018

Ein Besuch in Frankreich ist nicht komplett ohne einen Aufenthalt in einem französischen Schloss.

Diese Paläste, großen Herrenhäuser und ehemaligen Festungen, wurden von französischen Königen und Adeligen aus dem 17. Jahrhundert erbaut – für deren Freizeit und Vergnügen.

Die reich verzierten und imposanten Strukturen spiegelten die Veränderung in der Vorstellung von Macht und Gesellschaft wider. Frankreich war das führende Land in Europa und sein Monarch war das Zentrum des sozialen Lebens.

In Sachen Design waren Châteaux eine Kombination aus mittelalterlicher Burg und italienischer Villa und gehören damit zu den schönsten Beispielen für französische Renaissance- und Gotik-Architektur.

Sie waren oft auch der Ort religiöser Konflikte oder Familienstreitigkeiten über die Nachfolge, was ihnen eine umfangreiche und faszinierende Geschichte verlieh.

Ein Schloss in der Loire, Le Château d’Ussé, soll die Geschichte von Sleeping Beauty inspiriert haben, während im Palast von Versailles (der Hauptwohnsitz der französischen Könige von 1678 bis 1793) im Jahr 1919 nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs der Vertrag von Versailles unterzeichnet wurde.

Auch heute sind Tausende von Schlösser noch bewohnbar und für einen König perfekt geeignet.

Viele erhalten ihre antiken Möbel, Gemälde und Wandteppiche sowie formale Gärten. Sie können sich zwischen Regionen, Budget, Architektur, Tradition oder Küche entscheiden.

Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl an Schlössern in der Nähe des Sir John Monash Centers:

Château de Montigny sur l’Hallue (18km): Dieses große und luxuriöse Schloss im Stil des XIII. Jahrhunderts wurde komplett restauriert und ist von einem drei Hektar großen Park, jahrhundertealten Bäumen und einer großen Wiese umgeben. Das Dekor ist üppig und komfortabel.

Camping du Château (26km): Um zu beweisen, dass ein Château auch erschwinglich sein kann, bietet Camping du Château, wie schon der Name suggeriert, 33 Campingplätze auf dem Gelände des Château de Bertangles. Diese Burg im Regency-Stil war während des Ersten Weltkriegs ein Hauptquartier für die Briten und dann für General John Monash, Kommandant der australischen Imperialen Streitkräfte. Es gilt als eine der größten Burgen in Nordfrankreich und ist mit einem Park aus französischen Gärten geschmückt.

Château de Chaussoy (27km): Chaussoy wurde im 18. Jahrhundert als ein Folie, was unglaublich prachtvolle Architektur bedeutet, aus Stein erbaut. Es wurde am Vorabend der Französischen Revolution von der Familie Morgan erworben. Adrienne Morgan wurde von Louis XVIII zum Chevalier ernannt.

Château de Flesselles (30km): Dieses aus Backstein und Stein erbaute Schloss bietet einen Turm aus dem 13. Jahrhundert und Zimmer aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Es ist zehn Minuten von Amiens entfernt,.

Château de Vauchelles (48km): Dieses Schloss (20 Minuten von Amiens entfernt) ist geschmackvoll im traditionellen Stil eingerichtet und verfügt über einen privaten Eingang, einen Kamin, ein eigenes Bad und Gartenblick.

Referenzen

For more information or travel bookings go to Atout France.

Site by Swell Design Group

Travel

Back to Newsroom

Château stays in France

Australian troops in on parade in front of Château de Bertangles while it was commissioned as the headquarters for General John Monash
Château de Bertangles, once the headquarters for General John Monash, is now available as accommodation for travellers. (AWM E03895-002)

News

Posted on January 29 2018

A visit to France is not complete without a stay in a château. These palaces, grand mansions and former fortresses were built by French royalty and nobility from the 17th century – for their leisure and pleasure – and they now offer a unique accommodation alternative.

The ornate and imposing structures reflected changing notions about power and society; France had become the leading country in Europe and its monarch was the centre of social life.

In terms of design, châteaux were a combination of mediaeval castle and Italian villa, making them among the most beautiful examples of French Renaissance and Gothic architecture.

They were also often the site of religious conflict or family quarrels over succession, giving them a rich and fascinating history.

One in the Loire, Le Château d’Ussé, is said to have inspired the story of Sleeping Beauty, while the Palace of Versailles (the principal residence of French kings from 1678 to 1793) was where the Treaty of Versailles was signed in 1919 after the end of the First World War.

Today, thousands of châteaux remain intact and offer comfort fit for a king.

Many retain their antique furnishings, paintings and tapestries, and formal gardens. You can choose according to region, budget, architecture, traditions or cuisine.

Here is a selection of châteaux near the Sir John Monash Centre:

  • Château de Montigny sur l’Hallue (18km): This large and luxurious Louis XIII-style castle is completely restored, surrounded by a three-hectare park, century-old trees and a large lawn. The décor is sumptuous and comfortable.
  • Camping du Château (26km): Just to prove that a chateau can be in every budget, Camping du Château offers as its name suggests – 33 campsites in the grounds of Château de Bertangles. This Regency-style castle was headquarters for the British during the First World War and then General John Monash, commander of the Australian Imperial Forces. It is recognised as one of the largest in northern France and is decorated with a park of French gardens.
  • Château de Chaussoy (27km): Chaussoy was built from stone in the 18th century as a folie (meaning architecture of mad grandeur). It was acquired on the eve of the French Revolution by the Morgan family, Adriene Morgan being appointed to the rank of Chevalier by Louis XVIII.
    Château de Flesselles (30km): Ten minutes from Amiens, this brick and stone castle features a tower that dates back to the 1300s and rooms built in the 17th century.
  • Château de Vauchelles (48km): Accessed by a private entrance, this chateau (20 minutes from Amiens) has rooms tastefully decorated in a traditional style with a fireplace, private bathroom and views of the garden.
References

For more information or travel bookings go to Atout France.

Site by Swell Design Group