INFORMATION IMPORTANTE COVID-19

En accord avec les directives du gouvernement français, le Centre Sir John Monash est fermé jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

En savoir plus – INFORMATION IMPORTANTE COVID-19

À propos du Centre Sir John Monash

Parfois poignant, souvent émouvant : le Centre Sir John Monash raconte l'histoire australienne sur le front Ouest, avec les mots de ceux qui y ont servi.

En savoir plus – À propos du Centre Sir John Monash

Donnez-nous votre avis

Notre livre d’or digital est maintenant disponible en ligne. Donnez-nous votre avis.

En savoir plus – Donnez-nous votre avis

Le Guide de Voyage

Une nouvelle ressource pour ceux qui se rendent sur le Chemin de mémoire australien le long du front occidental.

En savoir plus – Le Guide de Voyage

Le Centre Sir John Monash raconte l’histoire de l’Australie sur le front occidental, à travers les mots de ceux qui y ont participé.
Situé à l’arrière du Mémorial National australien et adjacent au cimetière militaire de Villers-Bretonneux dans le nord de la France, le Centre Sir John Monash est un site clé du Chemin de mémoire australien sur le front occidental, et il établit un patrimoine international durable du centenaire australien des Anzac 2014-2018.
Ce centre multimédia à la pointe de la technologie permet de faire découvrir la guerre sur le front occidental d’un point de vue australien à travers un certain nombre d’installations multimédia interactives et d’expériences immersives. L’application SJMC, téléchargée sur le téléphone ou tablette des visiteurs devient un « guide touristique virtuel » le long du cimetière militaire de Villers-Bretonneux, du Mémorial National australien et du Centre Sir John Monash.
L’expérience est conçue pour que les visiteurs aient une meilleure compréhension du périple vécu par les soldats Australiens ordinaires, raconté avec leurs propres mots au travers de lettres, de journaux intimes et d’images de la vie quotidienne. Une visite du Centre Sir John Monash est une expérience émouvante qui marquera durablement les visiteurs.

Site by Swell Design Group

Weaving workshop at the SJMC in 2022

The Sir John Monash Centre is open

Please book your timeslot if you are planning to visit the Sir John Monash Centre from 24 to 27 April 2024.

Book your visit – The Sir John Monash Centre is open

At the Centre

Some special guests in June at the SJMC

The Sir John Monash Centre welcomed several distinguished guests in June 2024 including the Governor-General of Australia and his wife.

Read the article – Some special guests in June at the SJMC

Presentation

Australian Olympians during the First World War

During the Summer Olympics, the Sir John Monash Centre invites you to attend a presentation on Sunday 28 July 2024, dedicated to the history of Australian Olympic athletes who served in the First World War.

Find out how to attend the presentation. – Australian Olympians during the First World War

Workshops

Summer Workshops at the SJMC

Once again this year, the Sir John Monash Centre is holding summer workshops linked to the remembrance of Australians who served on the Western Front. Find out more about these workshops and how to take part in them!

Learn More – Summer Workshops at the SJMC

About the Sir John Monash Centre

Sometimes harrowing, often moving—the Sir John Monash Centre tells Australia’s story of the Western Front, in the words of those who served.

Learn more – About the Sir John Monash Centre

The Sir John Monash Centre tells Australia’s story of the Western Front in the words of those who served.

Set on the grounds of the Villers-Bretonneux Military Cemetery in northern France, and adjacent to the Australian National Memorial, the Sir John Monash Centre is the hub of the Australian Remembrance Trail along the Western Front, and establishes a lasting international legacy of Australia’s Centenary of Anzac 2014-2018.

 

Direction totem at the SJMC orientation building.

Access and information

Location:

Route de Villers-Bretonneux, behind the Australian National Memorial.

Opening times:

Open every day from 10am to 5pm.

Entrance fee:

Free entrance.

 

 

ABOUT THE CENTRE

This cutting-edge multimedia centre reveals the Australian Western Front experience through a series of interactive media installations and immersive experiences. The SJMC App, downloaded on each visitor’s personal mobile device, acts as a ‘virtual tour guide’ over the Villers-Bretonneux Military Cemetery, the Australian National Memorial and the Sir John Monash Centre.

The experience is designed so visitors gain a better understanding of the journey of ordinary Australians — told in their own voices through letters, diaries and life-size images — and connect with the places they fought and died. A visit to the Sir John Monash Centre will be a moving experience that leaves a lasting impression.

 

 

 

 

Book your Visit Join Our Mailing List

Site by Swell Design Group